Sexuality is a curious thing. I told him I wished he had a vagina; un-phased he smiled and said thank you. Later, upon request of an explanation, he pointed out that, in spite of his lack of my preferred genitalia, I accepted him. That was true enough; I like his personality, well most days. So what am I? This is a question I have always suffered with. Why, in this society, are titles deemed necessary? I am Gabrielle; I am female, and I am human. Even these titles are borderline excessive. It isn’t just about sexuality. Race, ethnicity, social class, and judgment all get bundled up in the blanket terms people use to “define” themselves. I don’t like being classified as bi-sexual because it comes with a stigma. “She must be confused”, the crowd will say, or there’ll be comments suggesting promiscuity. Frustration. They cast assumptions based on preconceived stereotypes. “So you’re dating a guy right now?” The skeptical expression they carry says it all. “Does that mean you’re straight now?” Aggravated and exasperated I struggle to provide an accurate social tag that leaves me with a shred of respect in the cast down stares of their mighty standards. Society; how dare they call themselves advanced. What headway have we truly made in the way of non-violence and brotherly love? Is there selflessness felt when strolling down a crowded street? Here and now I renounce my #SocialStereotype and formally address myself as Gabrielle Inez. No further explanation. What was that you said? You don’t understand? Get to know me as an individual; I promise, those qualities don’t change based on my sexual preferences. My characteristics aren’t defined by my race; my class doesn’t directly correlate to my extension of niceties. So, again I say, I am Gabrielle Inez. Yes, I’d be happy to meet your acquaintance.

2 thoughts on “I am

  1. Couldn’t agree more. People shouldn’t be judged by their appearance, accent, age, race, weight, sexual orientation, religion, eh… supermarket preference… (Help me out here, I’m running out of ideas.)

    Joking aside, though, I do agree with the sentiments. It’s truly amazing we’re all here, passengers together on this planet at this one particular point in history. We really should just try getting along.

    Like

    1. Certainly! If we all made a bigger attempt to put aside our differences (or perceived differences) we may be able to create solutions to the worldly sorrows. Generations from now, without change, we will only have our actions – ahem* lack of actions – to blame.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

